Sadness, happiness

There’s been too much sadness in the world lately.

There is not much I can say about the Newtown massacre that hasn’t already been said. In the wake of such a terrible thing, I know that if I woke up tomorrow morning and every gun had vanished from the face of the earth, I would not be sorry. That’s not going to happen, of course. And humans aren’t going to magically just stop being violent and horrible. I hope that, somehow, people with guns and people with power will choose to honor the memory of those who were killed – and the many, many others killed by guns every day in this country, children and adults – and find some way to make this kind of thing stop happening. I’m afraid I don’t have a lot of faith in that possibility, but maybe if those of us who have neither guns nor power persevere and try to be kind in small ways every day, things will slowly change. Maybe. I’d like to believe…

Another sad loss hit the poetry world recently when poet Jake Adam York died suddenly, unexpectedly, and much too young. I didn’t know him personally, and for that matter didn’t know his work as well as I would have liked to. But I thought of him as a poet who was doing important work. I’m grateful to know that his work will survive. And it makes me think – if there’s work you feel you are supposed to be doing, you should do it instead of waiting: waiting to have more free time, waiting to get the old work published before working on the new work, whatever your particular excuse is – and yes, I’m talking to myself here. Because you just don’t know.

Lil' Bub and me

Lil’ Bub and yours truly

A small happy thing this weekend – I got to meet “famous on the Internet” cat Lil’ Bub! Voted “best cat on the Internet” this year, Bub is a funny little thing – born as the runt of the litter to a stray mother, she has a number of genetic mutations that end up making her very distinctive and super cute. She lives here in Bloomington with “her dude” and you can read more about her on her Facebook page. Anyway, she’s developed a huge fan following online, and her dude has used her fame to raise money for animal rescues and shelters, which is really cool. She does personal appearances around the country and locally, and this weekend she was at a local winery’s tasting room downtown. (The event was “Lil’ Bubbly” – all tips and sales of sparkling wine went to benefit the local animal shelter, which had a table there displaying adoption info.) Bub was perched on a table, with her dude sitting watchfully nearby, and people could pet her and take pictures with her – I got there early and by the time I’d given her a little love and bought a few gifties (her merch also benefits animal causes), there was a really long line of people waiting to meet her. She is tiny, very soft, and incredibly sweet. If there are magical creatures in this world, I think Bub must be one of them.

Another small happy thing: 2013 is shaping up to be another good year for concerts locally (and semi-locally). I now have tickets to see Emmylou Harris, the Gaslight Anthem, and Josh Ritter. Yeah! Life always feels a little better when one has upcoming shows on one’s calendar.

And a not-so-small happy thing: looking forward to seeing some family at Christmastime. Reader, I hope you are also looking forward to some holiday time with someone(s) you love. In this season just past winter solstice, as the light slowly begins to return, may you find warmth and comfort.
winter moon
photo credit/Grant MacDonald

3 Comments

Filed under ramblings

3 responses to “Sadness, happiness

  1. mom

    Anne, the most beautiful Christmas greeting I have read. I love you.

  2. Lil’ Bub makes the world a lil’ better!

  3. Yes, this year has been full of highs and lows. I’m looking forward to a better 2013. Happy Holidays, Anne.

Leave a Comment

